Please note that minutes of the Governors meetings are available from the school office upon request.

Click here to view the Governors’ Self Evaluation from October 2017.

RoleNameA brief descriptionSpecial responsiblitiesEnd of termMembership of
relevant bodies
Chair & L.A. GovernorCouncillor Jean LammimanJean took over from Tony Murphy as Chair of Governors in September 2014.
Jean was nominated by the Local Authority and appointed by the Governing Body.
Leadership & Management/
Member of Finance
& Personnel Committee/
Member of Pay panel
31st August 2019Governor of Stanmore College, Advisory Board member of Regent College Group,
Fellow - Institute of Directors,
Life Fellow - Royal Society of Arts, Freeman of the City of London,
Chartered Fellow - Chartered Institute of Personnel & Development,
Member of Ruislip, Northwood & Pinner and Harrow West Conservative Party Associations,
member of Conservative Councillors' Association
Vice-Chair & Community GovernorDerek BakerDerek is a Chartered Engineer with degrees in engineering and management.
Derek is an active director/partner in a specialist consulting/interim management company with 50 years of experience.
Derek is a freeman of the City of London and is a qualified interviewer for the Institute of Directors 'Chartered Director Professional Review'.
Derek was appointed by the Governing Body and became Vice-Chair in July 2018.
Member of Finance &
Personnel Committee
31st August 2019Chairman of a not for profit company,
Trustee of Age UK Harrow,
Freeman of the City of London
HeadteacherMatt SilverMatt Silver began at Shaftesbury as headteacher on September 1st 2017.Member of Pay panel31st August 2019Director of "Collaboration in Education"
Co-Opted GovernorTim NguessanTim is a teacher in the 6th Form at Shaftesbury. His daughter was a student here.
Tim was elected to the Governing body.
31st August 2019NEU,
Co-Opted GovernorSimon SackwildSimon has been with us since 1996. He is the Head of Student Care and also head of Maths.
Simon is the designated teacher for Safeguarding and Looked After Children.
Simon serves as the NUT rep for Shaftesbury as well as being the Learning Rep for Harrow NUT.
He represents special schools on the Local Safeguarding Children's Board (LSCB).
He is the school lead on E-Safety. Simon is an LSCB trainer and a physical intervention instructor for the school.
Simon has been the teacher representative to the Governors since September 2012. Simon was elected to the Governing Body
31st August 2019NEU Harrow Learning representative
& Shaftesbury representative,
Vice-Chair of Learning & Development
Committee of LSCB,
LSCB member representing special schools
Staff GovernorPat EnderbyPat has been at Shaftesbury since September 2001. In December 2005 Pat was appointed Senior Teaching Assistant.
Pat now represents Shaftesbury's teaching assistants as a member of the Management team and the Governing body.
Pat is a Higher Level Teaching Assistant which enables her to cover lessons in the absence of teachers.
Pat's son, David, was a student at Shaftesbury giving her a wide perspective on the workings of the school.
Pat's daughter is also employed at Shaftesbury. Pat was elected onto the Governing Body by members of staff at Shaftesbury.
31st August 2019UNISON,
Deacon at Rayners Lane Baptist Church
Community GovernorTony MurphyTony has been a long standing governor at Shaftesbury, first as a parent governor, then as vice chair then as chair.
He has a strong belief in the key role Shaftesbury plays in Harrow and that it continues to be a good exemplar of best practice in the delivery of special needs education.
Part of his role is to monitor performance and provide support. He is a facilities manager and currently provides consultancy support to an NHS trust.
Tony stood down as Chair of Governors in September 2014 and will carry on as a Community Governor.
Tony's son is also employed at Shaftesbury. Tony was appointed by the Governing Body.
Chair of Finance
& Personnel Committee
31st August 2019Director of TME 37 Ltd,
Governor at Norbury school,
Representative at West London
Special Schools Governors meeting
Parent GovernorTrish CooneyTrish became a parent governor in 2015. She has a daughter and a son.
Her son is a student at Shaftesbury. Trish was elected to the Governing Body by the parents of students at Shaftesbury.
Member of Finance &

Personnel Committee
31st August 2019Nursing & Midwifery Council
Co-Opted GovernorFarry KhadjehFarry works for The Village School, BrentComing soon.31st August 2022Director of 26 Chevening Road Ltd
Co-Opted GovernorBinit ShahBinit became a Governor in January 2019. His son attends Shaftesbury.Coming soon.31st August 2023Coming soon.
Clerk to
Niral WadhiaNiral is the school receptionist.N/AN/AN/A
AreaGovernorLeadDeputy Lead
Outcomes, Achievements & AttainmentTrish CooneyAdam KielczykMatt McLoughlin
Teaching, Learning & AssessmentFarry KhadjehMatt SilverNazya Ghalib
Leadership & ManagementJean LammimanMatt SilverSLT
Personal Development, Behaviour & SafetyJean Lammiman
(Stand in)
Simon SackwildKrupa Patel
Post 16Farry KhadjehMatt McLoughlinTim Nguessan
SafeguardingJean Lammiman
(Stand in)
Simon SackwildMatt Silver &
Jackie O'Hanlon
Health & SafetyDerek BakerMatt Silver &
Marc Lister
Adam Kielczyk
FinanceTony MurphyMatt Silver &
Maria Kelly
Adam Kielczyk
Attendance Record14/11/189/10/184/7/1815/5/1813/3/1823/1/1814/11/17
Cllr. Jean Lammiman
Derek Baker
Matt Silver
From September 2017
Tony Murphy
Tim Nguessan
Simon Sackwild
Pat Enderby
(Staff representative)
Trish Cooney
Farry Khadjeh
Binit Shah (Co-Opted)N/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AN/A